Kevin Pitts, Dean

Assistant & Associate Deans

Trish Hammer, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Graduate Studies 
John Morris, Associate Dean for Research 
Michel Pleimling, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs 
Victoria Corbin, Assistant Dean for Outreach and Student Engagement 
Laura Freeman, Assistant Dean for Research in the Greater Washington, D.C., area 
William Walton, Assistant Dean for Finance 
Estrella Johnson, Assistant Dean for Inclusion and Diversity 
Roslyn Garrison, Division Director of Human Resources 


Michael Walsh, Assistant Dean of Advancement 
Kristy Morrill, Director of Alumni Relations 
Steven Mackay, Director of Communications 
Melissa McKeown, Communications Manager, Academy of Data Science 
Jenny Orzolek, Senior Director of Major Gifts 
Lon Wagner, Senior Director of Communications and Marketing 
Teresa DeCarmen, Assistant Director, Design and Digital Strategy 

College Leaders

Robert Cohen, Biological Sciences 
Roseanne Foti, Psychology 
Michael A. Fox, School of Neuroscience 
Peter Haskell, Mathematics, Interim 
W. Steve Holbrook, Geosciences 
Amanda Morris, Chemistry 
Mark Pitt, Physics 
Eric Smith, Statistics, Interim 
Sudipta Sarangi, Economics 
Robert Weiss, Academy of Integrated Science 
Tom Woteki, Academy of Data Science

Editorial staff

EDITOR: Steven Mackay 

WRITERS: Jess Hoopengardner, Suzanne Irby, Kelly Izlar, Steven Mackay, Melissa McKeown, Lon Wagner, Melody Warnick, Savannah Webb

PHOTOGRAPHERS: Taylor Arnold, Luke Hayes, Amanda Ljuba, Steven Mackay, Melissa Vergara Palmer, Natalee Waters 



Tell us what you think of this magazine. Write, call, email at:

College of Science Dean's Office (0405)
c/o Steven Mackay
Suite 4300, 300 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061

540-231-5422 /

Virginia Tech does not discriminate against employees, students, or applicants on the basis of age, color, disability, gender, gender identity, gender expression, national origin, political affiliation, race, religion, sexual orientation, genetic information, or veteran status; or otherwise discriminate against employees or applicants who inquire about, discuss, or disclose their compensation or the compensation of other employees, or applicants; or any other basis protected by law. For inquiries regarding non-discrimination policies, contact the Office of Equity and Access at 540-231-2010 or

Virginia Tech, North End Center, Suite 2300 (0318),
300 Turner St. NW, Blacksburg, VA 24061.