The Academy of Integrated Science and the Computational Modeling and Data Analytics program (housed in the Academy of Data Science) held a joint scholarship awards dinner on April 14, honoring more than 50 students.

The largest group of award recipients were granted the Luther & Alice Hamlett Scholarship. Luther Hamlett, who died in 2016, graduated from Virginia Tech in 1945 with a bachelor’s degree in biology before earning his M.D. from the Medical College of Virginia. He and his wife, Alice, who passed away in 2008, were among the College of Science’s most generous donors, setting up – among other things – an endowed scholarship for students majoring in nanoscience, systems biology, and computational modeling and data analytics.

Other awards announced at the dinner included the CMDA Alumni Scholarship and CMDA Outstanding Seniors.

Four students hold certificates.
Thirty-two students in the Computational Modeling & Data Analytics program were honored at this year's scholarship awards dinner, including 18 who were named recipients of the Hamlett Scholarship. Photo by Kailey Harvey for Virginia Tech.

A full list of this year’s award winners follows:

Soham Desai
Rhone Jenkins
Peyton Jones
Connor Joplin
Chloe Nyhart
Marlo Pinto
Simran Sehgal
Rishi Tadepalli
Charlie Ver Beek
Lin Xu
Eleni Ziu

Systems Biology
David Avila
Emma Cleveland
Avery Hansbrough
Esme Hansing
Ava Veith
Benjamin Yost

Integrated Science Curriculum (ISC)
Elliot Kesler

Science, Technology, and Law (STL)
Ellie Roach

Integrated Health Sciences and Research (IHSR)
Emily McAlpin

Computational Modeling and Data Analytics (CMDA)
Mohamed Abu-Ajaj
Abrar Ahmed
Zachary Bornstein
Brandon Chestnut
Hyunjoon Choi
Sophia Chukka
Justin Dean
Sara Hampton
Leo Kim
Pei-Ying Lin
Ian Russell
Alex Sandoval
Junwoo Seo
Chihisa Shabani
Zelin Shen
Levi Walker
Elisabeth Wasserman
Elizabeth Yen

Michael Albrigo
Louis Finder
Aadarsh Ganta
Rohan Ilapuram
Austin Jennings
Colin Lange
Yihan Liu
Josh Morris
Nate Sager
Harshit Singh
Katie Smith

Victor Mukora
Daniel Palamarchuk
Sarah Ramboyong