Undergraduate Programs

Welcome to the Undergraduate Student Advising page for the College of Science. As part of Virginia Tech, we are committed to providing our students with the highest quality of learning.  

Below is a list of the departments and contact information for their respective undergraduate offices.  For more general questions, please feel free to email us at cosadvising@vt.edu.

College of Science Academic Advisors

Haymore

Susan Haymore

Director of Undergraduate Advising
Dean's Office

Email: shaymore@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-5145 

Hopkins

Carrie Hopkins

Student Support Specialist,
Dean's Office

Email: carrie7@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2442 

Long

Gary Long

Associate Dean for Curriculum & Instruction
Dean's Office

Email: glong@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-7575 

Parks

Charlotte Parks

Academic Advisor & Recruiter
Dean's Office

Email: crobrtz@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-2551 


Departmental Academic Advising Centers

Contact Information:

Biochemistry

111 Engel Hall (0308)
340 West Campus Drive
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-6315
Fax: (540) 231-9070

Undergraduate Office:

David Lally,
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
106 Engel Hall, (540) 231-9524
dlally@vt.edu

Contact Information:

Biological Sciences

Virginia Tech
2125 Derring Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-6407
Fax: (540) 231-9307
bioadvising@vt.edu

Undergraduate Office:

Karen Fraley
Undergraduate Office Manager
2089 Derring Hall, (540) 231-6407

Emily Overend
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
2089 Derring Hall, (540) 231-9728

Angela Mathias
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
2089 Derring Hall, (540) 231-8926

Dr. Jack Evans
Director of Undergraduate Advising
2089 Derring Hall, (540) 231-6408

Contact Information:

Chemistry Department

Virginia Tech 
306 Hahn Hall North
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0001

Phone: 540-231-5391
Fax: 540-231-3255

Undergraduate Office:

Prof. Gordon T. Yee
Undergraduate Program Director
gyee@vt.edu, 540-231-3090

Prof. Patricia G. Amateis
Dir. General Chemistry
pamateis@vt.edu, 540-231-6629

Ms. Anna Hawthorne
Undergraduate Coordinator
ahawthor@vt.edu, 540-231-4239

Contact Information:

Academy of Integrated Science

Virginia Tech
North End Center, Suite 4300
300 Turner Street, NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-8131
Fax: (540) 231-3380
aisadvising-g@vt.edu

Undergraduate Office:

Mark Embree
Program Leader
575 McBryde Hall, (540) 231-9592
embree@vt.edu

Nora Dragovic
Program Manager and Advisor
North End Center, Suite 4300, (540) 231-8131 
nora84@vt.edu

Carrie Hopkins
Academic Program Specialist
North End Center, Suite 4300, (540) 231-2442
carrieh7@vt.edu

Contact Information:

Economics Department

Virginia Tech
3030 Pamplin Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-5688
Fax: (540) 231-9288

Undergraduate Office:

Erika Perdue
Undergraduate Advisor
3030 Pamplin Hall, (540) 231-7726
eperdue@vt.edu

Office Hours:
M-F 8:30-12:00 & 1:00-5:00
Please call or email to set up an appointment

Contact Information:

Geosciences Department

Virginia Tech
4044 Derring Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-6521
Fax: (540) 231-3386
geosciences@vt.edu

Undergraduate Office:

Ms. Connie Lowe
Student Coordinator and Advisor 
4050 Derring Hall
clowe@vt.edu, (540) 231-8824

Dr. Richard D. Law
Chair of Undergraduate Affairs
5105A Derring Hall
rdlaw@vt.edu, (540) 231-6685

Contact Information:

Mathematics Department

Virginia Tech
460 McBryde Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0123

Phone: (540) 231-6536
Fax: (540) 231-5960
math@math.vt.edu

Undergraduate Office:

Lori Berry
Enrollment Services Assistant
loberry@vt.edu, (540) 231-8267

Lizette Zietsman
Dir. Undergraduate Programs
lzietsma@vt.edu, (540) 231-2767

Robert Rogers
Assoc. Chair for Undergraduate Students
rogers@vt.edu, (540) 231-4184

Contact Information:

Academy of Integrated Science

Virginia Tech
North End Center, Suite 4300
300 Turner Street, NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-8131
Fax: (540) 231-3380
aisadvising-g@vt.edu

Undergraduate Office:

Randy Heflin
Program Leader
North End Center, Suite 4300, (540) 231-7289, rheflin@vt.edu

Nora Dragovic
Program Manager and Advisor
North End Center, Suite 4300, (540) 231-8131, nora84@vt.edu

Carrie Hopkins
Academic Program Specialist
North End Center, Suite 4300, (540) 231-2442, carrieh7@vt.edu

Contact Information:

Physics Department

Virginia Tech
222B Robeson Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-5792

Undergraduate Office:

Diane Walker-Green,
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
dwalkerg@vt.edu, (540) 231-5792

Contact Information:

Psychology Department

Virginia Tech
109 Williams Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24060

Phone: (540) 231-8148

Undergraduate Office:

Cindy Koziol
Enrollment Services Assistant
109 Williams Hall, Suite C
ckoziol@vt.edu, (540) 231-8148

Contact Information:

School of Neuroscience

Virginia Tech
North End Center, Suite 4500,
300 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-7995
Fax: (540) 231-1475 (fax)
neuroadvising@vt.edu

Undergraduate Office:

Naya Sou
Asst. Director of Academic Advising
nsou@vt.edu, (540) 231-9472

Pamela Wollmann
Academic Advisor
pamelawj@vt.edu, (540) 231-7373

Contact Information:

Statistics Department

Virginia Tech
406 Hutcheson Hall, Suite A
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0439

Phone: (540) 231-5657
Fax: (540) 231-3863

Undergraduate Office:

Jane Robertson Evia
Assistant Professor of Practice
416-C Hutcheson Hall (0439)
robj@vt.edu, (540) 231-1131

Contact Information:

Academy of Integrated Science

Virginia Tech
North End Center, Suite 4300
300 Turner Street, NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-8131
Fax: (540) 231-3380
aisadvising-g@vt.edu

Undergraduate Office:

John Tyson
Program Leader
5088 Derring Hall, (540) 231-4662, tyson@vt.edu

Nora Dragovic
Program Manager and Advisor
North End Center, Suite 4300, (540) 231-8131, nora84@vt.edu


Resources and other information