Directory

for the College of Science Dean's Office

Dean of the College of Science

Assistant and Associate Deans

Victoria Corbin

Assistant Dean for Outreach and Student Engagement
Email: cvictoria@vt.edu
Phone: 540-232-8705

Laura Freeman

Assistant Dean for Research in the National Capital Region
Email: laura.freeman@vt.edu
Phone: 540-858-3352

Ron Fricker

Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Administration
Email: fricker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7754

Patricia (“Trish”) Hammer

Assistant Dean for Administration and Analytics
Email: pwhammer@vt.edu 
Phone: 540-231-3702

Randy Heflin

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
Email: rheflin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7289

Robin Panneton

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs
Email:  cooperr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9805

Wade Stokes

Assistant Dean for Advancement 
Email:  lwstokes@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4033

Will Walton

Assistant Dean for Finance
Email: wwalt00@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7686


Inclusion and Diversity

Michel Pleimling

Director of Inclusion and Diversity
Email: pleim@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6073

Jamelle Simmons

Associate Director of Inclusion and Diversity
Email: jmsimm13@vt.edu


Undergraduate Advising and Recruiting

Susan Haymore

Director of Undergraduate Advising
Email: shaymore@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5144

Melanie Sontheimer

Student Support Specialist
Email: msison90@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5145

TBD

Director of Undergraduate Student Recruiting
Email: cosrecruiting@vt.edu


Administration

Allison Craft

Executive Assistant to the Dean
Email: crafta@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7078

Carolyn Furrow

Office Technology Coordinator 
Email: furrowcl@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5968

Teresa Price

Business Manager
Email: tfprice@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6394

Amber Robinson

Administrative Assistant
Email: hamber08@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7515

Missy Smith

Fiscal Technician
Email: smithmk@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9542

Clara Sowers

Receptionist
Email: casowers@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5422

Andrew Volker

Grants Coordinator
Email: avolker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8739


Advancement

R. Carter Aylor

Assistant Director of Leadership Gifts
Email: carteraylor@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9183

Teresa DeCarmen

Assistant Director Design and Digital Strategy
Email: tdecarmen@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3894

April Dow

Development Associate
Email: aprildow@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7813

Katie Lafon

Director of Alumni Relations
Email: klafon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8706

Steven Mackay

Communications Director
Email: smackay@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5035

Jenny Orzolek

Senior Director of Major Gifts for Advancement
Email: jorzolek@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5643

Lon Wagner

Senior Director of Communications
Email: lon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6468


Departments, School, Academy, and Centers

Biological Sciences

Robert Cohen, Department Head
Email: rscohen1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5712

Chemistry

Alan Esker, Department Chair
Email: aesker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4601

Economics

Sudipta Sarangi, Department Head
Email:  ssarangi@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7981

Geosciences

Steve Holbrook, Department Head
Email: wstevenh@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6521

Mathematics

Eric de Sturler, Department Chair
Email: sturler@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5279

Physics

Mark Pitt, Department Chair
Email: pitt@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3015

Psychology

Roseanne Foti, Department Chair
Email: rfoti@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5814

Statistics

David Higdon, Interim Department Head
Email: dhigdon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5657

Academy of Integrated Science

Michel Pleimling, Director
Professor, Physics
Email: pleim@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6073

School of Neuroscience

Harry Sontheimer, Executive Director
Email: sontheim@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2770

Center for Biostatistics and Health Data Science

Alexandra Hanlon, Director
Email: alhanlon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-526-2264