Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Award for Outreach Excellence

    Dana Hawley

The College of Science is pleased to announce that Dr. Dana Hawley of the Department of Biological Sciences has been selected to receive the 2015 College of Science Outreach Excellence Award. She was chosen by the COS Honorifics Committee based upon her impressive nomination application and letters of recommendation.

Dr. Hawley’s work involves the incorporation of outreach as an active part into her upper-level undergraduate and graduate courses. Her classes in Ornithology are active-learning environments, whereby her students may work at the Price House Nature Center or in local K-12 classrooms with teaching units and activities related to birds.

A recommendation by Dr. Ann Stevens and Dr. Brenda Winkel, states “Dana’s outreach activities have had a profound and lasting effect, not only on the individuals she teaches and mentors, but also on the broader public community served by those students”.


Education and Training


College of Science Outreach Excellence Award


Past Recipients

  • 2014   Angela Scarpa, Psychology
  • 2013   Carla Finkielstein, Biological Sciences; and the Microbiology Outreach Team consisting of Ann Stevens, Birgit Scharf, Richard Seyler, and Florian Schubot of Biological Sciences.
  • 2012   Karen Brewer and Shamindri Arachchige, Chemistry
  • 2011   Physics Outreach Team, mentored by Josh Peebles and Byron Wiedeman
  • 2010   Djavad Salehi-Isfahani, Economics
  • 2009   John Simonetti, Physics
  • 2008   Angela Scarpa, Psychology
  • 2007   Michael Rosenzweig, Biological Sciences
  • 2006   Llyn Sharp, Geosciences
  • 2005   Aris Spanos, Economics
  • 2004   Russell Jones, Psychology

Administrative Assistant
College of Science Office of the Dean (0405)
North End Center, Suite 4300, Virginia Tech
300 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA  24061

    VT Engage

VT Engage